History of JMPP CHINA

The John Moores Painting Prize is held every two years to recognize the best contemporary paintings. It was established in 1957, and is named after its founder Mr John Moores. Prize-winning works and entries will be exhibited in the Walker Art Gallery of National Museums Liverpool as part of the Liverpool Biennale. Past prizewinners include internationally renowned painters such as David Hockney, Peter Doig and Richard Hamilton.

John Moores, the founder of the Prize, is a business tycoon, and an amateur painter. He participate in a dozen painting competitions at that time, but failed the selection because of his identity of businessman. He thought the selection of some competitions was unfair, and that the jury preferred their acquaintances. So he decided to set up an unbiased competition, and that’s the original intention of establishing the John Moores Painting Competition. On the premise of fairness and anonymity, the jury can only ballot for the most potential and most excellent painters based on the quality of the paintings. In 1957, the first John Moores Painting Competition was rounded off. It was a competition that was intended to be held for once. Yet because of its huge success, it later became a continuous competition.

In early 1960s, the exhibition of the competition was regarded a major show to lead the avant-garde art in Britain. The prize-winning artworks were collected by John Moores, and were permanently collected by and displayed at Walker Art Gallery. Among them, a number of classic artworks, such as “Creation and Crucifixion,” paintings by William Scott, “March 1963” by Roger Hilton and “Peter getting out of Nick’s Pool” by David Hockney, ensure Walker Art Gallery’s status in post-war British art, and that the gallery stands no inferior to any collection agencies in Britain.

From 1960s to late 1970s, despite the fact that painting was challenged by new media art, and the John Moores Painting Prize was also affected, its leadership in Briitsh painting still remained. Being its first prize winner was always regarded the highest honor one could get in a national painting competition. In 1980, Walker Art Gallery once again purchased a series of competition works, including “Broken Bride 13.6.82” by John Hoyland, “Oriental Garden, Kyoto” by Bruce McLean, “Handles” by Lisa Milroy, “Blotter” by Peter Doig and “Mirage” by Michael Raedecker. The tradition of John Moores Painting Competition was carried on, and it grew to be the most core exhibition area of Liverpool Biennale. Nowadays, John Moores Painting Competition has built solid partnership with National Museums Liverpool. The John Moores Contemporary Painting Exhibition is held every two years at the Walker Art Gallery of the National Gallery.

In China, Fine Arts Academy of Shanghai University is the partner of John Moores Painting Prize (China). The China division is committed to adhering to the operational philosophy and mechanism of the John Moores Painting Prize in Britain. The jury comprises three British judges and two Chinese judges. The selection will be conducted independently, and based only on the quality of the works. The whole selection process will remain anonymous till the winners come out. Every John MooresPainting Prize (China) will select one John Moores Special Prize winner, and four John Moores Prize winners.

Upholding the principles of openness, fair and just, along with international selection criterion, and the purposes to provide a stage for international cultural exchange, the John Moores Painting Prize (China) has been successfully held for four years, from 2010 to 2016. Participants come from all provinces, municipalities and autonomous regions in China, including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. The number of the participants keeps increasing every year in thousands. Artists all over the country responded actively and participated extensively. The award-winning works and the artistic accomplishments of the winners were well recognized by international judges, which pave the way for more excellent Chinese artists to present their achievements on international stages.

Prize-winning works are collected by John Moores University and its partner Shanghai University. Some renowned foreign collectors, large Chinese enterprises and individuals are also collecting these works. Now, the John Moores Painting Prize (China) wins high favor among various fine arts academies, art museums, galleries, cultural institutions and collectors, and earns huge approbation in the art circle. In the future, John Moores Painting Prize (China) could be the best choice to appreciate Chinese contemporary painting.

大赛历史 History of the Prize

约翰•莫尔绘画大赛是每两年举办一届,奖励最好的当代绘画作品的绘画比赛。此项赛事以创始人约翰•莫尔先生的名字冠名,创立于1957年。大赛获奖作品与入围作品作为利物浦双年展的一部分在利物浦国家美术馆步行者画廊展出。在以往的获奖者中包括大卫•霍克尼,彼德•多依格,理查德•汉密尔顿等国际知名画家。

大赛创始人约翰•莫尔先生是一位商业巨子,也是一名业余画家。他曾屡次参加当时的一些绘画比赛,却因其商人身份,错失了入选机会。他认为当时的有些比赛评选过程是不公正的,评委会偏向选用熟悉的人。于是他决定自己创设一个能够摒弃偏见的比赛。这便是设立约翰•莫尔绘画大赛的初衷。在公正、匿名的前提下,评委会只能根据绘画作品的品质来评选最具潜力、最优秀的画家。1957年,第一届约翰•莫尔绘画大赛圆满落幕。这项原本只想举办一期的比赛,因其巨大成功,而后成为一项持续性赛事。

在1960年代初期,大赛的展览被视为引领英国前卫艺术的重要展览,获奖者作品由约翰•莫尔收藏和步行者画廊永久收藏并展示。其中,一系列经典作品,如 ('Creation and Crucifixion'), William Scott, Roger Hilton ('March 1963') and David Hockney ('Peter getting out of Nick's Pool'),确保了步行者画廊代表战后英国艺术的地位,并使该美术馆足以与英国任何一个收藏机构媲美。

在1960至1970后期,虽然绘画受到新媒介艺术的挑战,约翰•莫尔绘画大赛特有的地位也曾受到冲击。但是,约翰•莫尔绘画大赛在英国绘画中的领导地位不曾改变,大赛一等奖的获得者始终被视为国家绘画比赛的最高荣誉。到1980年,步行者画廊再次收购John Hoyland ('Broken Bride 13.6.82'), Bruce McLean ('Oriental Garden, Kyoto'), Lisa Milroy ('Handles'), Peter Doig ('Blotter')and Michael Raedecker ('Mirage')等大赛作品,约翰•莫尔绘画大赛的传统得到传承,并成为利物浦双年展中最核心的展区。如今约翰•莫尔绘画大赛已经与利物浦国家美术馆建立了牢固的合作关系,每两年在国家美术馆的步行者画廊举办约翰•莫尔当代绘画大展。

在中国,约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)的合作方是上海大学上海美术学院。中国赛区秉承英国约翰•莫尔绘画大赛的运作理念与机制,大赛评委会由3位英方评委与2位中方评委组成,独立进行评选,标准仅基于作品的品质,整个评选过程直至获奖者产生,都是匿名的。每届约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)评选出一名约翰•莫尔一等奖以及四名约翰•莫尔奖。

秉持公平、公正、公开的办赛宗旨,坚持国际化评选标准,提供国际文化交流舞台,约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)从2010年到2016年已成功举办了四届,参赛艺术家包括港澳台在内遍及中国所有省市自治区,每届参赛者数量都以千数递增,得到各地艺术家的积极响应和广泛参与。大赛获奖作品以及入围艺术家的艺术造诣受到国际评委的认可,为优秀的中国艺术家在国际舞台展现他们的艺术成就创造了条件。

大奖作品由合作方上海大学上海美术学院以及约翰•莫尔大学收藏。一些国外著名收藏家、国内大型企业及个人也参与收藏参赛艺术家的作品。现在,约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)也受到各大美术院校、美术馆、画廊、文化机构、收藏者的青睐,在艺术界享有很高的认可度。放眼未来,约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)或将成为欣赏中国当代绘画的最佳选择。